Contact Us   |   Sign In   |   Register


Community Search
Featured Members
Fred's Tents & Canopies, Inc.Fred Tracy of Fred's Tents


Exhibitor Forms for The Tent Show 2015-pending
Find a Member
Sponsorship Opportunities
Membership Renewal
(must be signed in)

Welcome to MATRA-The Association for the Tenting Professional

Share, collaborate, exchange and grow – that's why we're here and we hope you are too. Engage and explore anytime, from anywhere there's a web connection.

Welcome. We're glad you're here.

Save-The-Date: The Tent Show 2015
November 9th to 12th, 2015
Dover Downs Hotel/Casino-Dover, DE

Spring Training 2015 held on March 24th, 2015
BC Tent & Awning Co; Avon, Massachusetts

by Scott Pickel, Everything Tented

For those of you who may have missed our annual Spring Training event, here is a brief recap. Bob Costa and his team very graciously hosted over 60 of our members for a day of networking, education and inspiration on Tuesday, March 24th at their venue, B.C. Tent & Awning in Avon, MA.

The day began with coffee, bagels and conversation as table top exhibitors set up and attendees arrived. The first seminar was co presented by Terry Sylvester from On Target Services and Jeffrey O'Brian representing National Grid. Together, they gave an informative presentation on safe staking practices including site markings and the process designed for the New England area.

Our next speaker, who is an organizational consultant, was Randi Bale of Randi Bale Consulting Inc. She provided insight into how business owners and employees can become more focused, better organized and improve communication skills within the company which translate into productive business growth. After a break for lunch, Randi returned to give us some of the practical applications and techniques for achieving the earlier identified focus and organization which also assists in achieving a perfect balance between work and everyday life.

Time with our industry vendors took place in between sessions throughout the day. As always this exposure was spent investigating product options, creating vendor/client relationships and renewing some old friendships.

Next we were treated to an enlightening look into all of the options and decision making processes that go into constructing a new building or addition to your existing space. Gene LaPierre and Bob Costa's presentation had much audience participation as several members in attendance had recently been involved in those identical transitions. Our final session of the day concluded with a tour of B.C. Tent and Awnings current facility and operation. The fifth annual Spring Training event will be remembered as a value to those in attendance and one of our best yet.